Owl Baby

Today, I discovered on the outskirts of Sarasota, Florida a small village where Amish and Mennonite snowbirds spend their winter, like many of us northerners do. And as I’m walking around the narrow streets with small houses, to my surprise, I find a beautiful nature trail tucked within the neighborhood.

It’s like a whole different place inside another place. Paths crisscrossing through hammock and a creek runs alongside. It’s quite easy to forget there are people and houses surrounding this natural habitat.

High above the thicket a barred *owlet blinks, now and than. I stand in silent watching him, watching me. Quite a site, to say the least.

I cannot leave without taking a few photos, and now I have the pleasure of sharing my priceless experience with you.

 

This little guy/gal can grow up to 20 inches tall and a wingspan of almost 4 feet. It will be ready to fly in about 6 weeks.

According to the National Audubon Society, barred owls are known for their wide range of sounds: various hoots, whines and squeals. They can even sound like barking dogs or whooping monkeys. They also can make sounds like humans, including a scream like someone in pain and one that sounds like laughter.

I will be returning to Pinecraft Park in a week and a half to take a few more photographs.

 

*Baby owls are called owlets.

 

Photographs are owned and copyright by Connie Gildersleeve.

9 thoughts on “Owl Baby

  1. It’s Pinecrest, Sarasota. A very charming village, with Amish restaurants, and bakery. Although, the park is small, yet active with egrets, herons, wood storks, and woodpeckers.

    Thank you for stopping by to view my blog. Much appreciated.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A few years ago, I heard this racket outside: it was two barred owls talking. Scared me silly. They did sound like barking dogs, monkeys and monsters. Made me run into the chicken coop and stand there with the chickens until I realized they were only owls.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

